Eat More: Parsnips!


It’s winter, so there’s really no excuse for not eating more parsnips.

They’re white, carrot shaped, and they have a sweet flavor with maybe just a hint of celery-like bitterness.  You find them covered in wax in your grocery store, and when you bring them up to the register, the checker asks you what they are.

They’re usually pretty cheap, too, not that that is a must in my book–I’m all about spending all my disposable income on good food even after having canned and frozen and dried everything I grew myself.  And I will most definitely be growing parsnips this year.

Tonight I cut my parnsips into little bite-sized hunks and spread them in a roasting pan.  I dusted them with a blend of spices and herbs to capture that “Tsardust Memories” Penzey’s Spice blend I keep hearing about in different blogs: salt, pepper, garlic, cinnamon, nutmeg, marjoram.  Then I sprinkled a little brown sugar over my parsnip hunks and drizzled them with melted butter, then tossed and roasted at 350 until they started to caramelize.

Served them with some Bluebird Locker German sausage and local apple sauce plus a good mustard on the side.  The combination of flavors was fantastical–parsnips and apples seem made for each other.

5 responses to this post.

  1. Oh, parsnips. My dad dad used to steam them and then saute them in butter until they started to brown. Yummy!

  2. To be completely honest I ‘ve never had these before! I need to pick some up on my next trip to the farmers market!

  3. I am of Polish extraction and parsnips are in my blood. Well, not really…they’d be clotting up my veins if that were true…anyway. Best use of parnips: slow roasted with carrots and a pork tenderloin. Mmmm-mm! They come out all sweet and caramel-colored. FABulous!

  4. Hey, one more thought on parsnips. The wax coating is not universal. I never saw them that way in California or Minneapolis.

  5. Posted by flyingtomato on January 18, 2009 at 10:25 am

    I think the wax coating is usually used on parsnips that are sold loose rather than in a bag in order to reduce moisture loss in storage. Parsnips probably don’t sell very quickly in Jones’, so they order the wax-coated ones that last longer (often the turnips and rutabagas are waxed, too).

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 49 other followers

