Crockpot Lamb Curry


I prepped this before heading out to the gardens yesterday and it was fabulous!

You’ll need:
a couple tablespoons of oil for browning the meat (I used peanut)
a small yellow onion, chopped
about half a pound of lean lamb stew meat (May I suggest Dakota Harvest?)
a 15 oz. can of organic chickpeas (garbanzo beans) drained/rinsed
a 15 oz. can org. diced tomatoes
a small can org. tomato sauce
half a head of organic cauliflower
2-4 cloves garlic
3 tablespoons curry powder
Tablespoon of cumin seed
I also added a little cinnamon and chipotle powder
a couple tablespoons of honey
a cup of broth (I used chicken)

In your crockpot, dump the canned goods and cumin. Cut the half head cauliflower into good-sized florets and dump them in, too. Liberally sprinkle in cinnamon and judiciously sprinkle in chipotle. Throw in one of the tablespoons curry powder (I used a combo of standard grocery store curry and a little Penzey’s Balti curry).

Press the garlic over these ingredients. Then heat the oil in a heavy skillet or Dutch oven. Throw in the onion, chopped. After a couple minutes, start throwing in the chunks of lamb to brown. Once they’re starting to get nicely browned, throw in the rest of the curry powder, and cook another minute or two. Maybe add a little salt and pepper.

Turn off heat, dump the broth into the pot with the meat and onion, scrape up all the goodness, and dump it all into the crockpot. Drizzle the honey over the top, mix everything up a little, and put your crockpot on low. Cook for about 6-7 hours.

Serve with a little organic yogurt to dollop on top and hunks of crusty salty bread to soak up all the juices.

The lamb gets very tender, the cauliflower can be cut with a fork, and you’ll probably have leftovers! Two hungry farmers ate about half, which means there’s about six servings–eight even if you serve it over rice.

3 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by La Rae on May 17, 2009 at 12:54 pm

    I just happened to come upon your site and love it! I graduated from USD and lived there with my husband and two sons until 2005 when we relocated to Houston. How I love and miss Vermillion! I enjoyed gardening there, the farmer’s markets, apple farms, etc. (I am slowly learning how to garden here in the subtropical climate, but it’s different). And I miss open spaces and fresh, clean air! :D Anyway, keep up the great work on the blog — I am already planning on cooking the lamb curry for my family.

  2. Posted by flyingtomato on May 17, 2009 at 5:45 pm

    Thanks for reading! That lamb curry really was fabulous–I hope you like it, too. Not all my tossed-together recipes go that way–only the ones I blog on. ;-)

  3. Thanks for the tasty recipe! I found it googling crock pot and half pound of lamb ;)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 48 other followers

