Local Food in Vermillion Schools–Hurrah!


I got an e-mail last night from the Food Service Director of Vermillion Public Schools.  She was looking for a supplier of local cantaloupe and watermelon–a good-sized order–for this fall.

This morning, I talked to one of our producers that typically has a large crop of melons, and supplied what information I had.  They called me back just a little bit ago to confirm they’d made contact with the food service, and were working out the details.

Not only that, but they suggested the food service director stop by the Thursday market and see what else our producers have available that could work for the school menu.

It’s not a done deal yet–there’s still weather considerations and price negotiations–but it’s a great first step.

SO excited to have helped with even a small part of the process of connecting local food producers to local schools!

[Update: I heard back on the negotiation from Food Service Director, Jodi Roberson, who e-mailed the following: “We hope to do more locally grown food in the fall and spring months, so I will contact you as I know what those items are.” Yes! Yes!]

8 responses to this post.

  1. Wow, this is such great news! I’d love to see this all over South Dakota. Nice work! Keep us posted 🙂

    Michelle
    http://www.blackhillslocavore.blogspot.com

  2. good to hear the Jamie Oliver effect is arriving in Vermillion. 😉

  3. 2010 is turning out to be great year in Vermillion for local food!

  4. Posted by flyingtomato on July 21, 2010 at 11:37 am

    What I wouldn’t give for a chance to get in that big commercial kitchen! So long as I can bring my own knives…

  5. Ay, I bet the size of that kitchen would boost the efficiency of your canning process . . . and would be fun to do with a group of people, too.

  6. Great to hear about this developing market for our local producers. Let’s hope this will encourage processing and storage facilities as well.

  7. […] Flying Tomato Farms with Junk Food and Other Magic and Local Food in Vermillion Schools Hurrah […]

  8. […] Flying Tomato Farms with Junk Food and Other Magic and Local Food in Vermillion Schools Hurrah […]

Leave a comment