Handing Over the Reigns


Yesterday I resigned as coordinator of the Vermillion Community Garden Project, a project that was conceived and built as a community outreach for the Vermillion Area Arts Council.

I proposed the project to the VAAC Board in late 2005/early 2006, and since that time, many have worked to make that shared dream a reality.  While I’ve offered my advice and assistance to anyone who might be willing to take up coordination of the project, I felt that the rancor between me and the VAAC Board had developed to the point that my presence as coordinator might be a liability rather than an asset.

In the past month or so, my concern over this project’s survival has caused me much stress and anguish.  Over the past two years, I have continually fought for the project and tried to directly address concerns of the VAAC Board when those concerns were directly expressed to me.

A project of this magnitude is complex and time-consuming–it is made more difficult by lack of direct communication and support by the organization that hosts the project.  I sincerely hope that others will step in to help coordinate the project, and that they will have greater success and more direct communication with the Board.

Leave a Reply

