Be of Good Cheer–Spring is Near!


 Leek Emerging

For all of you who are feeling a bit cabin-feverish, a bit overwhelmed by the snow and cold, put this in your pipe and puff away in good spirits:  we’ll be planting down here in the southern paradise of the Dakotas in just about a month.

I met with one of the two accomplished women who are planning on helping out in the gardens this year and pulled out my old garden journals to discuss scheduling:  I was out prepping and planting in the final week of March last year–starting as early as March 24th.  This year I’ll have a bit more help keeping things under control, as I’ll have these two informal apprentices with some garden experience of their own.  Between all of our adventurous growing palates, we’ll be planting just about anything you could imagine.

Now, I know there’s a lot of snow on the ground, and I know that just a couple days ago it never got above zero here in Verm-town (I checked the SDSU website and felt better–USD said -11, SDSU said -20), but I’ve also noticed how much longer the days have gotten.  True, climate change may be making things a bit uncertain, but I’m pretty confident I’ll be sowing those peas in the not-so-distant future.

Hopefully you can make out the little green spot on the above image: that’s a tiny leek emerging!

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Matt on February 23, 2008 at 10:03 pm

    Every time I eat a leek I think of you, you know. With as much as you wax poetic over that under-used delciousness, I wager you’ll someday be crowned a “Leek Princess.” All hail her!

  2. Posted by flyingtomato on February 23, 2008 at 11:56 pm

    Well, one of my roommates in my first year at USD was a former Iowa Pork Princess…it could be contagious!

    Alas, I am out of leeks for this winter, but I do have a big bowl full of shallots to start on next.

Leave a Reply

