Simple Celeriac Mash


The consensus: eat the crazy knobbly celeriac root.  That’s what I did, and it was fantastic!

Though all of the proffered salad ideas looked good, the chilly weather drove me to make something warm and hearty instead.

I peeled the root and cut it into 1″ cubes–boiled about 15 minutes, then added two medium-sized skinned and cubed Yukon gold potatoes and boiled about 15 minutes longer.  It ended up being about 1/2 potato and 1/2 celeriac–maybe slightly heavier on the potato side.

Then I drained the tender cubes and mashed with about a tablespoon of this great butter from Hope, MN and one or two tablespoons of thick farm cream from Burbach’s in Hartington, NE (this in the kind that comes in the returnable glass bottles).

The result was a lightly golden, fragrant cloud of celery-potato deliciousness that got better with every bite.  It had none of that bitterness that stalk celery sometimes has.  The only variation I might make next time is a sprinkle of fresh-grated nutmeg.  I was wishing I had some left to top a shepherd’s pie!

I served it with burgers made from the grass-fed steer we got last fall, topped with slices of melted havarti.   Though this meal wasn’t exactly elegant, the mashed celeriac-potato recipe would seem a good way to give a food everyone loves and all chefs tend to mess with (adding roasted garlic–adding horseradish–adding bacon) a bit of subtle flair and complexity.

So, will I attempt to grow celeriac?  Yeah–maybe not so much for farmers market sales–but for CSA deliveries and my own root cellar, definitely.  It’ll make a nice addition to the more common root veggies I grow: potatoes, carrots, beets, turnips, rutabaga.

Hmm…I wonder if celeriac would be good mashed with rutabaga?

5 responses to this post.

  1. Wow Rebecca–

    Your mash sounds so delicious! and with local butter and cream. How could life get any better? Your CSA customers will be so lucky to find celeriac in their box. Will you add some literture on how to use it?

    I can’t speak for rutabega and celery root mash…but I’ve combined them before (with other root vegies) in stews, soups, and pot roasts. Gosh, this is making me so hungry!!
    Way to go!
    Deborah

  2. Posted by flyingtomato on March 24, 2008 at 11:40 am

    Deborah–

    I’m not sure if I’ll be able to get celeriac on the menu for this year’s CSA–looking at the planting schedule, I would have wanted to start it a couple weeks ago.

    So, I might have to wait until next year.

    But yes, I do write a newsletter every week and include it with deliveries. It includes farm news, what’s in the bag that week, and a recipe or two. I’ll likely be posting my newsletters in some form or another on this blog.

    Looks like I can get out and plant my spinach and peas this week!

    Ahh, the southern paradise of the Dakotas!

    –Rebecca

  3. No gloating allowed!

    Last year, because of a 12″ snowfall on April 3rd, I didn’t get to plant peas or spinach until April 18th. Hopefully, I can get out there a bit earlier this year. But still with the flurries this week! and no balmy days for a while. Aaaargh!

  4. Posted by cody-codee on March 26, 2008 at 10:45 am

    last night I made a celery root, parsley root, parsnip, rutabaga, and turnip mash! I am more hardcore than you, I didn’t peel my roots. Kinda rustic. With a little butter and s&p it goes down real well. I am glad you will be turning the vermtown folks on to this wonderful root.

  5. Posted by flyingtomato on March 26, 2008 at 3:52 pm

    Oooh–parsley root, too! Lucky Seattle-ite you!

    You must be hardcore!–or at least have a really good veggie brush–little bugs kept crawling out of the crags in my celeriac over the two weeks I had it before eating it. So, I decided against the extra protein and peeled. 😉

    –Rebecca

Leave a Reply

