Flying Tomato Survey #2–To Deliver or Not to Deliver?


I’m referring to one of the subjects of my last post–stinging nettles.

These nutrient-rich, mild-flavored wild greens are a staple of Harry and I’s spring diet, and I would love to include a bag of the tender tops in one of the first CSA deliveries of the year.

The problem, of course, is that they’re stinging nettles.  You can’t grab them if they’re raw without getting a host of painful stings.

So, if I delivered them, I would have to seal the bags shut with a little sticker that said, “STOP!  Nettles must be cooked.  Do not handle with bare hands.”  And then the newsletter would have to include more extensive handling and cooking directions (which I normally include for any crop I grow).

So–is it worth it?  If you were a CSA member, would you be happy or horrified by a bag of nettles?

5 responses to this post.

  1. Well, if I were a member of your CSA, I would be thrilled to find a bag of nettles in my weekly share. When I’ve participated in a CSA in the past, I loved being introduced to more unusual things (for me this was cardoon, sunchokes, and bacon avocados).

  2. Posted by flyingtomato on April 9, 2008 at 12:03 pm

    Whatever is a bacon avocado?

    I love both bacon and avocados, but the latter I cannot eat due to an allergy. They make my stomach burn holes in itself. And I rediscover that fact every time I think, “well, I could just eat a little….”

    I’ve though about starting a patch of sunchokes, but with those, you have to designate a permanent home. Once you have them, they don’t go away.

    Cardoons–I’d grow just for their beauty!

    Thanks for weighing in!

  3. I think this is a great idea! stinging nettles are deeelish!

  4. a bacon avocado is just a type of avocado (and thankfully it doesn’t taste like bacon!) — its skin is bright green unlike black haas, and is a little less rich… they’re delicious plain or with a little salt..

    so did you end up delivering nettles??

  5. Posted by flyingtomato on April 14, 2008 at 10:05 pm

    My first delivery is on May 13.

    Finally a few other things are starting to come up, so I may not have to! But I might just because they are so tasty.

Leave a Reply

