It’s Time for Morels


Morels

This morning is a clear, warm, sunny one–and after a full day of soft spring rain on Friday, and a slightly chilly, but seasonable day yesterday, you know it’s time to get out in the woods with your mesh bags.

If you do hunt for these wild goodies–make sure to use a mesh bag to allow the spores from any fungi you collect to disperse.  Whatever you do, do not subject your ‘shrooms to a plastic grocery bag, where they will sweat and collapse into a stinky mass.

Morels dry well too, so if you manage a sizable harvest, you can throw some into a dehydrator or simply dry them on a plate on top of the fridge.  Do not eat morels raw–you must cook them.

Along with any wild or cultivated asparagus you can source and a little butter, cream, and pasta (or arborio rice–do I hear risotto?), you’ll have a spring feast to remember.

Just don’t ask me where I’m hunting them.

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Pam on May 5, 2008 at 6:21 pm

    Oh those beauties look so yummy! I am a former Michigander and we used to find them by the ton. Okay maybe I am exaggerating a wee bit. But I spent many an afternoon looking for those tasty morsels. Yummy. I think I will try to hunt some up this weekend…weather permiting!

  2. Posted by flyingtomato on May 6, 2008 at 4:49 pm

    You know what? I didn’t find any this weekend. I will try again in a few days now that we’ve just had a thunderstorm and it has really warmed up…

    Sigh.

Leave a Reply

