Salad Goddess


Ok, I’m tooting my own horn a bit (if Arachne’s punishment was to be turned into a spider, what will mine be?  Will I be turned into a slug to eat lettuce all my days?).

But one of my absolute favorite things to do in the garden is to custom blend a salad mix, which I call “Goddess Mix.”  Today’s CSA members will get one that may be the best yet: three kinds of lettuce (buttercrunch, black-seeded simpson, and lollo rossa for a dash of red), rapini leaves, baby arugula, cilantro, dill, and purple chive blossoms.  There are a few random baby red russian kale leaves in there, and a few baby osaka purple mustard leaves as well.

Lettuce Row

After harvesting for deliveries this morning (it was chilly!), I snapped a few images.  Here’s one of the prettiest romaine lettuce I’m growing this year:

Freckles Romaine

This variety is called Freckles, and though it doesn’t do well in the flats, it does great once transplanted to the garden.  I’m transplanting the bulk of my romaine this year because a) I’m growing it in a fairly weedy spot, and b) I want to be sure of having nice, full-sized heads.  I’ll be transplanting more romaine babies in between these bigger heads, and then will likely start a third round for transplanting.

Not only are the chives in bloom, so are the green onions, which have a lovely white flower that is very attractive to beneficial insects and butterflies.

Green Onions in Bloom

Milkweed is another plant that is a good one for butterflies, and I allow this “weed” to grow in a couple spots in the garden.  Below, you’ll see it in a patch of cilantro (OK, and lamb’s quarter–a “weed” that’s good for us humans to eat).

Milkweed in Cilantro

And I’ll finish off this post with one of my obligatory windmill shots.  If you’ve got it, film it!

Obligatory Windmill #1

3 responses to this post.

  1. What is the name of the onions with the white flowers tops and where can I buy
    the bulbs?

  2. Posted by flyingtomato on March 25, 2012 at 8:57 am

    Carol–they’re not bulbing onions; they’re Evergreen Hardy White bunching onions (scallions). Easy to start from seed and are very hardy and multiply readily. I started some back in 2005 and have divided them many, many times. I moved some up to Minnesota with me and left them in a bucket all summer, dumped them in the compost last fall when I moved again, and still found a few clumps surviving this spring–so I stuck ’em in back the ground.

  3. Flying tomato, Thank you very much for the the information on the scallions.

Leave a Reply

