Bees Love Onions!


Bumblebee on Green Onion Flower

I took this image yesterday, when there were over a dozen of these fuzzy pollinators on the row of green onions coming into bloom. I have noticed that in my home gardens, where I have numerous clumps of ornamental white allium, that the hoverflies and tiny trachinid wasps seem to really love those, too.

I have not seen many honeybees out on the farm yet this year, though they were never that numerous.  The wild bees and wasps seem more common there.  But I was thinking about honeybees as I took this shot, and wondering if onion flower honey would taste like onions.  I’ll bet it would–since the flowers of chive and onion taste very much like the rest of the plant they’re attached to.

Leave a Reply

