The Lovely Wild Columbine


I found this wild columbine growing in my backyard when I moved here.

wild columbine

After I constructed this north side garden four years ago, I introduced a few into the bed.

wild columbine 2

I let it re-seed itself freely because of its delicate beauty, which belies its hardy character.

columbine 3

4 responses to this post.

  1. Beautiful!

    We had a few in our yard when we first moved in, but they long since departed. (I think they were crowded out by some rampantly-spreading lemon balm.)

  2. Posted by flyingtomato on June 1, 2008 at 1:54 pm

    Ah, I am familiar with the rampantly-spreading lemon balm!

    I am watching with great anticipation the upcoming shoving match between my lemon balm, apple mint, and lime mint. To the victor go the soils?

    If you were in the area, I’d dig you a few seedling columbine plants!

    You could have some more lemon balm too, if you wanted. 😉

    –Rebecca

  3. Posted by jerzeetomato on June 4, 2008 at 4:34 am

    I wish I could get some of those Columbine, they’re beautiful. We planted our mint in a tub last year so it wouldn’t spread….it’s so hardy it came right back this spring.

  4. Posted by flyingtomato on June 4, 2008 at 9:11 am

    I have my peppermint, spearmint, and chocolate mint in containers sunk in the soil, but in some crazy-hopeful kind of denial, I planted my lemon balm, apple mint and lime mint without any kind of barricade. True to form, they’re all moving fast in several directions.

Leave a Reply

