Today at the Farmers Market


I’ll have the following items for sale:

Goddess Mix: A blend of three lettuces, plus arugula, herbs, and chive blossoms. $3.50/bag

Buttercrunch Lettuce: Bright green and crispy! $3/bag

Beet Greens: With the tiny baby beets attached–gorgeous! $2/bunch

Easter Egg Radishes: Pretty mixed colors–mild as radishes go.  $1/bunch

Broccoli Raab: A.k.a. rapini.  Traditional Italian cooking green. $2/bunch

Cilantro: Nice leafy bunches. 50 cents/bunch

My son and I will probably harvest some more fresh herbs for him to sell (as the “little flying tomato”)–assorted mints, thyme, maybe tarragon at $1/bag.

See you there!

Vermillion Area Farmers Market

Clay County Fairgrounds (corner of Cherry & High Streets) 3-7pm every Thursday through mid-October.

5 responses to this post.

  1. That sounds like a nice selection. If I lived close by, I’d buy some of each! (I miss all the greens I was getting this time last year from the CSA I joined…)

  2. little flying tomato! awesome.

  3. Posted by Lee on June 5, 2008 at 5:57 pm

    I’m new to Vermillion, and heard about the Farmers Market a few weeks ago. Today was the first day I was free to go to it, but when I arrived around 5:00 there were only three tables set up just outside the fairgrounds area. Was I in the wrong area? Is this the usual turn out, or was it just because of the weather?

  4. Posted by flyingtomato on June 6, 2008 at 7:40 am

    Lee–

    Yes–part of it was due to the weather–we thought we’d have to cancel because of the flooding and severe storm warnings and the tornado watch.

    But, we’ve also had a cool early season, so many of the bigger truck farmers who do the bulk crops like tomatoes, potatoes, carrots, etc. have not had sufficient crop to sell at market yet.

    I’m not sure why more farmers don’t do greens (probably storage and handling issues), so I try to bring as much of the early leafy stuff as possible, but I often sell out pretty quickly.

    That said, we should be seeing more vendors and more produce as the season progresses and (hopefully) the weather dries out a bit. Until then, it may be best to try to get there as early as possible, and I’ll try to keep bringing more greens!

    Thanks for your comment, and thanks for stopping by the market!

    –Rebecca

  5. Posted by Lee on June 9, 2008 at 9:05 am

    Thanks for the reply, Rebecca. I will be patient and check back at the market each week. Since I work until 5:00, it may not be possible to get there early, but I can try!

Leave a Reply

