Peas Be with You


I will have sugar snap peas at the market today.  I also have a couple bunches of turnips, but mostly there’s peas.  I’m going to bag them up now.  There’s a lot.

Otherwise, it started thundering and raining while I was out harvesting this morning, and out of respect for Lightning Awareness Week (and my own little life), I quickly finished up the pole bean planting I was doing and made tracks for dry ground.  These are big flat green beans that have the real, nutty beany taste–variety “Northeaster.”  So they got in and watered, too.

Looks like I’ll be delivering broccoli next week, and boy is it tender and tasty.  Harry is a huge broccoli fan, so I may have to keep an eye on him so he doesn’t sneak down to the garden and graze on all those lovely green heads.  Just kidding.

But we did have a stir fry last night of cubed ham plus broccoli florets and stems, baby beets and greens, carrots, snap peas, and a summer onion.  I just had the rest cold with a little soy sauce and sesame oil, and  I love how the beets stain everything a bright pink color.

Now the sun’s out, and I could do some more harvesting in the muddy garden, but there are about twenty students waiting patiently for their composition paper grades, so I’d best get on that.

3 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Matt on June 26, 2008 at 3:41 pm

    Mmmmmm. your food sounds so good. i made a roasted broccoli this past winter (i may have mentioned to you already) . . . it was so memorable i can imagine it now . . . and Harry would adore it, I imagine. I think it’s in that Veggie cookbook…if not, i’ll track it down for you.

  2. Posted by flyingtomato on June 27, 2008 at 11:38 am

    Sounds fantastic! I will look for it in my cookbook if I get tired of just eating plain broccoli, steamed or sauteed. With so much work to do, the meals are simple and made of the bits and pieces in the fridge. But, I usually have some pretty nice, fresh bits and pieces!

  3. Posted by Kelsey on June 28, 2008 at 6:50 pm

    Ate the turnips tonight and they were delicious!

Leave a Reply

