The Short, Sweet Season of the Sugar Snap Pea


Sometimes it seems easier to gauge the velocity of a thing when it is going rather than when it is coming.

A few weeks ago I had told my members that the snap peas were blossoming and a few pods were forming, and it would likely be two weeks before they appeared in deliveries. The next week, they were out in sufficient numbers to deliver.

Now, though today I harvested maybe three or four gallons of the pods, I can see that they are on the wane. The vines have reached their full height, and the blossoms are fewer.

I guess there will only be enough for deliveries for another two weeks, and then the powdery mildew that is not yet visible, but that always takes them down in the end, will begin working its way up the vines and hastening their demise.

So, too, did I tell my members last week that I would likely have to split broccoli deliveries–putting heads in half the bags this week and the other half the next week. Yesterday I walked down to the patch and realized that I’d better start cutting heads for deliveries right then, or their tight green buds would open into yellow flowers, and the heads would be spoiled.

Now I have seven heads in my fridge–two harvested yesterday and five today, and unless some disaster befalls the patch before tomorrow morning, I’ll have plenty of nice big heads for all the deliveries, plus one or two for Harry and I, and a couple for the market on Thursday as well.

__________________________________________________________________________

In other news, I find it somewhat disconcerting that here in Vermillion we have “Code Enforcement” officers to tell homeowners when their grass gets too long, and to mow that grass and fine the landowners when they exceed the length requirements for too long, yet the sprinkler system of my neighbors to the north has been trickling water into the street for over a week, and there are no repercussions for that other than a higher water bill.

Sure, the neighborhood birds have been bathing and enjoying the steady stream of water that continuously bubbles up from the corner of their lawn, but the waste of resource seems to me a kind of sin. The length of a person’s grass seems a fairly short-term cosmetic issue compared to the drainage of a resource we all must share.

But it seems in this country, if you are willing to pay for a thing, it offers a sort of indulgence or excuse for using much to much of it. I am not sure that I would go so far as to tell people how much of a thing they can and cannot use–it may come to that eventually anyhow.

I just wish that those who consider themselves “conservative” and drive enormous trucks they don’t need and let water flow down the streets from their faulty sprinkler heads would practice a bit more real conservation.

One response to this post.

  1. Posted by Matt on July 1, 2008 at 1:44 pm

    ‘SNAP’ on conservatives/conservation! Excellent point.

Leave a Reply

