A Singular Agenda


Some days, there’s only one thing on the agenda down in the gardens–this morning it was water.  The leeks, broccoli, beets, a row of the heirloom tomatoes, the pole beans, summer squash, winter squash, wild kales and purple carrots all got a dose of water.

I woke up at first light, and by the time I convinced myself to roll out of bed at six (psyching myself up by silently thinking, “c’mon!  out of bed!  what kind of farmer are you, anyway?”), it was 75 degrees.

Got out to the gardens about 6:30, spent a couple hours watering, and by the time I got back at 8:30 am, it was up to 84 degrees.  Yup, it’s going to be a hot one.  A good day to spend working in the cool of the house.

I couldn’t resist, while I was watering, pulling a couple samples of the purple “Dragon” carrots.

"Dragon" carrot

"Dragon" carrot

There’s only one in the picture because I ate the other one right when I pulled it.

They are pretty tasty–less sweet and more what the catalogs call “complex and carroty.”  I call it wild–it has just a twinge of the Queen Anne’s lace (wild carrot) bitterness, which isn’t bad.

These will be in the ground another month by the looks of this one, so maybe the flavor hasn’t really matured yet.  I’m guessing I’ll have to take some images of them full grown in bunches before I deliver–they’re too pretty to miss a photo op!

One response to this post.

  1. That is indeed a pretty carrot!

    And 84 degrees is too warm for that early in the morning…

Leave a Reply

