Caterpillars, Flowers, and a Butterfly


While the milkweed is starting to look a little ratty in the sideyard, the monarch caterpillars I leave it there for are looking big and healthy.

Monarch Caterpillar 1

Monarch Caterpillar 1

Monarch Caterpillar 2

Monarch Caterpillar 2

Lots of other lovely flowers in the high summer garden right now:

Black-Eyed Susan

Black-Eyed Susan

This was a volunteer a couple years ago in my garden. Now I have oodles of them. Anyone want some?

Blue Mist Shrub

Blue Mist Shrub

My dear friend Jen gave me this plant three or four years ago now. What started as a tiny little stick-like plant has grown into the focal point of my north side garden.

Moonlight Trailing Nasturtium

Moonlight Trailing Nasturtium

Borage Blossoms

Borage Blossoms

I have been planting these trailing nasturtiums in my window box for a few years now. Last year, they were so prolific, I pickled a jar of their seeds (they make a good caper substitute). The leaves and flowers are also edible.

The borage, also edible, came from seed saved a couple years ago–I’ll save more of this seed this year and let some drop as well.

Squash Blossom

Squash Blossom

This is the pumpkin growing by the front steps. Or should I say growing along the entire front of the house?

Hollyhock

Hollyhock

I got the hollyhock seed from my mom–haven’t planted them in a couple years, but the ones that came up the first couple years were pastels–peach, pink, yellow, and white. This is the first I’ve seen of this darker rose color she told me was in the mix, too.

Pink Flame Hyssop

Pink Flame Hyssop

At least that’s what I think it’s called. I’m going to have to move it from behind the black-eyed susans, globe thistles, and heliopsis next year, but I kind of like how it’s draping over the slab of marble (from an old, broken tabletop a friend found at the dump) that catches the drips from the outside spigot.

Swallowtail Butterfly

Swallowtail Butterfly

And finally, yet another lovely “flower” from the south side garden.

3 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Sarah Skeen on August 21, 2008 at 8:45 am

    Beautiful photos! I especially love the monarch caterpillars! We have raised them for the past 2 years now 🙂 Just yesterday I also found a tree full of eastern tiger swallowtail catterpillars. I thought it was a bit late in the season but I guess I was wrong! Thanks for the lovely pictures!

  2. In two years only one comment? Tsk, tsk! A very pleasant and informative site to visit. Just happened across it while websurfing in search of a nasturtium flower like the yellow ones in our new hanging basket. I immediately recognized the leaves from childhood memories of over 60 years ago, but was baffled by the shape of the flowers and petals, as they didn’t look at all like I remembered. I’ll continue my search.

  3. Posted by flyingtomato on June 23, 2010 at 10:41 am

    Thanks for visiting, David. I actually have 1,319 comments in two years–just none on this particular post. Thanks for being the first!

Leave a Reply

