Mow, Mow, Mow your Weeds


This time of year, I have finally conceded certain parts of the gardens to the weeds. While the beds with veggies growing in them are pretty clean, the aisles in the areas where I haven’t established the permanent beds with straw-mulched aisles are grown up to grass.

Frog Camoflage

Frog Camoflage

Things get a little out of hand, too, when my son is with me for extended stretches during the summer. He’s not too keen on gardening (yet!), and not that excited about hanging around while I do it (unless I can find him a toad, skink, frog, or snake to look at). So, while we go out every day, I tend to spend only an hour or two working–which is not always enough to keep things looking their best.

If I can't see you, you can't see me.

If I can't see you, you can't see me....

Today I spent the bulk of the day out on the farm, with Harry giving me a ride to and fro as my truck had a fuel pump problem this morning. Mowing and weed whacking was the highest priority, as well as digging out the rest of the Austrian Crescent and Peruvian Purple potatoes.

Fingerling Potatoes

Fingerling Potatoes

There weren’t that many left in the ground of each variety, as I’d harvested a number before the Fair to find a few nice specimens to enter in the open class horticultural competition.

I also pulled the blossom stalks off the row of green onions.  I’d thought they were looking pretty ratty, but once the stalks were gone, I realized I’ve got a nice, thick stand for fall harvests.

March of the Cucumbers

March of the Cucumbers

To the right, in the foreground, roma tomatoes; in the background, a waterfall of cucumber vines that start on the other side of the trellis, grow up, over, and cascade down over the cages I’ve set up to protect the wild garden kales beneath them.

Harry was busy doing a few errands and working on projects, so I pretty much spent the time out there alone (with the frogs, snakes, toads, and a couple skinks I wasn’t fast enough to photograph).  My faithful canine companion no longer comes down into the garden–afraid of the Snappy Monster, a.k.a. the electric fence.

Vega in the Van

Vega in the Van

Her favorite spot is in back of Harry’s van, so we leave the door open for her.  That way, she’s always ready for an adventure.

Leave a Reply

