The Republicans are in a big tub o’ hot sauce


I was trying to figure out a way to address both the political reading and viewing I’ve been engaged in and the latest canning project underway in my kitchen–taco sauce.

When I saw that Barack Obama picked Joe Biden for his running mate, and then heard two of the speakers who introduced Biden for his acceptance speech mention his role in writing the Violence Against Women Act, I saw it coming.

“Who’s that governor from Alaska?” I asked Harry.  “Because McCain’s going to pick her.  That’s the only way they’ll see to counteract Biden and the Violence Against Women Act thing–make the Republican VP pick a woman.”

I am kind of feeling sorry for the Republicans right now while I am not a) laughing at them, or b) disgusted by them.  To watch their spindoctors dodge the direct questions put to them about Sarah Palin’s lack of experience, and Sarah Palin’s wacky views is part hilarity, part attack of empathetic angstschweiss.

Does McCain have any idea what he’s putting those poor people through?  I mean c’mon.  Give ’em something at least vaguely plausible to work with.  Or should I say someone at least vaguely plausible to work with?

But I have no sympathy whatsoever when those direct questions about her inexperience are met with responses such as, “you’re insulting women,” or “you wouldn’t ask that question if she were a man.”

Oh, really?

The McCain camp has been asking those questions about a man all along–the one on the other side of the party line.  And no one thought to suggest that saying Obama wasn’t qualified was an insult to men everywhere.  And I haven’t heard that questions about G.W.’s intelligence are insulting to men, either.

The Sarah Palin pick, in itself, is an insult to women.  It shows McCain thinks women are interchangeable–all the same.  Good-lookin’ trophies to stand by their man and make him look powerful and important.

Why fret about Hillary?  I’ve got another one right here you can vote for–and she even won second prize in a beauty pageant!  My wife’s not bad, either–I mean, everyone cheered when I suggested she enter the Miss Buffalo Chip Contest out in Sturgis!

If anything, the McCain pick will solidify even further the vote of smart, educated, experienced women around the ticket that doesn’t insult them, their intelligence, or their experience.

And, by the way, how is the Palin pick so historic anyhow?  Are the Republicans so historically ignorant as to have forgotten this:

Mondale-Ferraro 1984

Mondale-Ferraro 1984

Enjoy that hot sauce, guys!

12 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by sigmapromise on September 3, 2008 at 10:58 am

    I am a Democrat, but I do want to see the Republican party able to run a campaign where the assumption is that Americans are smart–and not the other way around.

    McCain is a decent man, but this is truly politics that panders to the people. Last act of desperation, anyone?

  2. Posted by flyingtomato on September 3, 2008 at 11:23 am

    Yes, I would also encourage both political parties to lean toward an assumption of intelligence.

    I fear this country is sliding down a very slippery slope of ignorance and fear. It may simply be that I listened to a radio performance of Orwell’s 1984 on Monday, but I am more worried than ever.

    Thanks for the comment!

    (ps–I was editing this post when you commented–there’s a couple of changes)

  3. Posted by humanrights101 on September 3, 2008 at 2:49 pm

    Senator Joe Biden was regularly and severely beaten by his older sister as a child and as an adolescent. How do we know this? He told us during a Senate hearing in 1990.

    http://www.ifeminists.net/introduction/editorials/2006/0503roberts.html

    This is the same sister that raised his two sons after his wife and daughter were killed in an auto accident.

    [I have edited this comment for excessive length. –Rebecca]

  4. Posted by humanrights101 on September 3, 2008 at 2:49 pm

    NJ DV Law Overturned Amid Epidemic of False Allegations

    New Jersey’s domestic violence statute has recently been found unconstitutional. The New Jersey Attorney General is taking this case to the state’s Supreme Court.

    [I have edited this comment for excessive length. –Rebecca]

  5. Posted by flyingtomato on September 3, 2008 at 6:30 pm

    humanrights101–

    I edited your comments down, but I did read them before doing so. It was not the intention of my post to say anything about the Violence Against Women Act other than I guessed its highlighting at the DNC would make it more likely that the Republicans would choose a woman for the VP slot.

    –Rebecca

  6. Posted by cherrie on September 3, 2008 at 6:49 pm

    Your taco sauce sounds delicious. But your comments on Palin are stale. Sally Quinn said the same things yesterday, almost word for word.
    Some of your words smack of liberal superiority. “smart, educated, experienced women around the ticket that doesn’t insult them, their intelligence, or their experience.”
    Could Palin have achieved what she has being stupid? Could Meg Whitman, founder of eBay? Or Kay Bailey Hutchinson, Texas senator? All women considered for VP.
    How about reserving the heat for your hot sauce and leaving the attacks to the ladies who are ahead of you by at least a day.

  7. Posted by flyingtomato on September 3, 2008 at 8:29 pm

    I read Sally Quinn’s comments, and you are wrong in stating that my comments are the same as hers.

    Quinn suggested that Palin should not have been McCain’s VP pick because of her overwhelming family obligations. Do I mention Palin’s family? Nope.

    What I say is that McCain’s choice seemed obvious, and it is McCain’s obvious pandering that is insulting, not the choice itself. I say that Palin’s views are wacky, and that she is inexperienced, but I don’t say she’s stupid.

    Sorry if I couldn’t provide you with something fresh, but then it doesn’t appear that you read what I wrote anyhow.

  8. Posted by cherrie on September 3, 2008 at 10:13 pm

    These comments are not for posting, unless that’s your preference.
    Palin is an historic choice because she’s the first Republican candidate for VP. Nobody has forgotten Geraldine Ferraro as the first Democratic choice. She’s commenting on every news channel.
    Obviously I read your piece. I was quoting from it.
    Palin supports Palin. If she’s a choice that insults intelligent women, and she supports herself, she must be a stupid woman. (I don’t think that was what you meant. She can’t be too stupid to have come as far as she has come. Nor is Hutchinson nor Whitman. All three of these women have exceeded anything you’ve done.)
    I know it’s your space to air your opinion, but unless you’re preaching to the choir, wouldn’t you be more effective with the opposition if you avoided emotional words like “wacky” and broad statements like “intelligent women…”? You are too smart to waste your time with such mundanities and name calling.
    Last thought. Sorry you missed it The statement I attributed to Sally Quinn did come from an interview yesterday.

  9. Posted by flyingtomato on September 4, 2008 at 8:58 am

    Cherrie–

    WordPress automatically approved your comment. I’m happy to take it down if you like.

    You quoted one bit from my piece. The part about intelligent women. If those words showed up in Quinn’s piece, then she and I share the same opinion. If I nailed the same phrase word for word, I’m amazed because I didn’t read Quinn’s remarks until after I wrote my post.

    Not everyone is making the same argument against McCain/Palin. Mine has nothing to do with Palin’s family or her intelligence. Quinn makes the family argument against, you make the intelligence argument for (or, at least, you accuse me of claiming she isn’t smart).

    For the third time, McCain is insulting women by making a choice that suggests he believes women candidates are interchangeable in the minds of voters. He is pandering to women voters, and that’s insulting. Had he picked a woman with more experience, I would not have been insulted.

    That she has more experience than me (in certain realms) is certainly correct–but I don’t have the illusion that I’m qualified to be Vice President. In terms of being stupid and getting far–after the last eight years, I think we’ve put a damper on that argument. Not that I was the one making it.

    And smacking of “liberal superiority”–if I didn’t believe being liberal was superior, I wouldn’t be one! That goes for being smart and educated, too. That doesn’t mean I think I’m a better person, by the way, it means that I believe smart and educated are good things to be, and I want our country to stop dumbing down our populace by injecting fairy tales into science curricula and forcing teachers to teach to bubble tests in order to keep their jobs.

    I appreciate that you believe I’m “too smart to waste [my] time,” though I’m a little insulted by the implication in your first comment that I ought to stay in the kitchen with my hot sauce.

    When I have more time to fully describe my position in the detail you desire, I’ll get to it.

    Obviously, I am not a full-time political commentator. I am a farmer, teacher, mother, writer, and lots of other things besides, as you’ll notice if you read through my blog.

    I’m also a participant in this democracy, and as such, my opinion (and my vote) are worth as much as the next person’s, and I’ll continue to voice that opinion on my blog.

    Thanks for the comments.

    –Rebecca

  10. Rebecca-

    I said something quite similar to my husband about the Palin pick. If “they” (the RNC favorite word) believe that I would vote for McCain/Palin simply because she is a woman on the ticket, it is an insult! I told my H. that I thought the insinuation was a message that women were chosing Hillary simply because she was female. I know of her supporters that her gender had little to do with it. Hillary and Palin are night and day and I feel “they” think we are too stupid to note the not-so-subtle differences.

    Many of us are smarter than that…

    Great blog! I wish I had stumbled upon it sooner!

  11. Posted by flyingtomato on September 4, 2008 at 6:10 pm

    I was not a Hillary supporter as such–though I would absolutely have voted for her had she been on the ticket.

    In my view, there were so many who hated Hillary so vehemently, she would not have been as likely to be successful at winning undecided voters (and the White House) as Barack Obama. Cynical? Perhaps.

    I think gender did have something to do with it, but only in terms of a shared pride in her accomplishments–a “you go, girl!” sort of feeling. Which probably indicates that women are still somewhat of a minority, even if not numerically speaking–do men feel a shared pride in the accomplishments of other men?

    Thanks for the comments!

    –Rebecca

  12. Posted by redhatterb on September 5, 2008 at 8:13 pm

    I think McCain picked palin eith because he wanted a trophy VP or might be considering a third marriage.

Leave a Reply

