“If women’s bellies were transparent…


…would abortion still be legal?”

This is the kind of question being entertained on the anti-choice websites in the last few days.

At first, reading the comments on the Voices Carry (not-so-affectionately, but accurately referred to as “Voices Crazy” over at my fellow feminists’ site, Dakota Women), I had to laugh.  Can they be serious?  I couldn’t help but recall one of my favorite novels to teach in my Intro. to Lit. classes: H.G. Wells’ The Invisible Man:

The Invisible Man

The Invisible Man

“BUT you begin to realise now,” said the Invisible Man, “the full disadvantage of my condition. I had no shelter, no covering. To get clothing was to forego all my advantage, to make of myself a strange and terrible thing. I was fasting; for to eat, to fill myself with unassimilated matter, would be to become grotesquely visible again.”[Wells, H.G. The Invisible Man, 1898]

Of course, after a brief laugh at the sheer ridiculousness of the “transparent belly” (apparently they also skipped that part of science class where they learned babies don’t grow in women’s bellies), I considered the implications of such a comment.

This is the “Big Brother” society these anti-choice folks yearn for. It’s not enough for them, apparently, to believe that their God can see into every aspect of our lives and thoughts; they want to see into it, too. They want control over our lives and our bodies from cradle to grave.

Correction: They want control over women’s lives and bodies from cradle to grave.

Even more disturbing was the discussion about all the “cannibalistic fetus soup-eaters” in China.  Do they honestly believe this stuff?  I suggest that if the anti-choicers really believe there is a cult of fetus soup-eaters in China, they ought to use their Initiatated Measure 11 funds to fly the lot of them over there to seek out and expose this horrific tragedy.

Maybe, if they have enough money from all those out-of-state donors, they can install transparent windows into the cannibals’ bellies to monitor their dietary intake.

That, my friends, is a joke.  But maybe this new “crusade” of theirs would stop them from beating the same dead horse here in SD for awhile.

Leave a Reply

