Pumpkin Pie


I don’t know how long it has been since I made pies–especially entirely from scratch.  But the two pumpkin pies turned out pretty well.  The filling, made from the Neck Pumpkin I grew, is fabulous–I dug into the dish of pumpkin custard I cooked after the pies were done and gave a taste to H and M  this morning (after I tasted it).  The dog got a little lick of the spoon, too.

pumpkin-pie

I plan to make the apple pie this morning–the crust is chilling in the fridge from last night, and the filling is coming to room temperature on the table.  I popped open the canning jar last night and we had a little with supper as chunky applesauce.  If there’s not enough left in that quart canning jar, I’ll open a small jar of boozy fruit and mix that in.

H. was pretty excited about the apple pie.  For some reason, it feels like some kind of womanhood test–can I make an apple pie from scratch for “my man”?  He’s not acting like that, of course–it’s more my own strange ideas.  I can laugh about it, of course, but it’s still lurking there in the corner of my brain.  Maybe I’ll put on a flouncy skirt, heels, and makeup–pull it with a flourish out of the oven.  Except I don’t think H would find that more or less attractive than anything else I might or might not be wearing–he just wants the pie, not the fifties housewife.  😉

8 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Matt on November 27, 2008 at 12:36 pm

    I don’t remember the last time I made a crust, but I did last night, for the pecan pie I’m bringing over to the cousin’s. I plan to serve each slice with a dollop of maple whipped cream.

    My Mom’s Pecan Pie

    3 eggs
    1 c. corn syrup
    1 T. vanilla
    1/8 t. salt
    1 c. brown sugar
    2 T. melted butter
    1 large cup pecans

    Mix all ingredients, then stir in pecans, pour into an 8 or 9 inch crust, Bake on a cookie sheet at 350 for an hour.

    Happy Thanksgiving, friend.

  2. Posted by flyingtomato on November 27, 2008 at 12:47 pm

    Maple whipped cream? You’re a cook after my own heart. Happy Thanksgiving! The apple pie is out, and we’re all bathed, now I just need a pair of clean, dry pants, and we’ll be off to Krista’s. M. has eaten half of the “extra” pumpkin pie already.

    –re.

  3. Posted by lejohns on November 27, 2008 at 9:56 pm

    I heard on NPR on Wednesday to make a good crust use vodka instead of water…Hmmm?

  4. Posted by Matt on November 28, 2008 at 12:54 pm

    One of the people I made pies with on Wednesday night tried the vodka crust . . . we all suspect it’s a sort of a cooking urban legend, or at least an excuse to bring out the liquor (a little for the pie, a little for me . . . ) There was no discernible difference that we could tell, flavor or texture-wise.

    btw…the maple whipped cream was a hit, very nearly stealing my pie’s thunder….which tasted just like my mama’s. yay!

  5. Posted by flyingtomato on November 30, 2008 at 9:31 am

    My pies were also a hit! The crusts turned out well, and have inspired me to think of other fillings for future crusts. I’ve pulled some broccoli out of the freezer for a couple ham and broccoli quiches.

    But I may have done it too soon–I could use to not eat for a couple days, after several big meals over the weekend.

    –re.

  6. Posted by cherrie on November 30, 2008 at 12:21 pm

    Vodka crust is NOT an urban myth. Tested by Cooks Illustrated and America’s Test Kitchens. It’s not supposed to taste different. And you do not use all vodka. It’s 1pt ice water and 1 pt very chilled vodka. It works because vodka allows more liquid when making the crust, and that makes for easier working. Vodka does not create gluten and it leaves no after taste.
    i was out of regular vodka this year so in desperation reached for Absolute vanilla flavored vodka for the apple pie crust. Although no one could taste vodka or vanilla in the crust, they really, really, really liked the pie and the crust. Try it. It works.
    And if you’e in the mood to experiment, next trying brining your turkey. Whoa, momma! That’s good stuff.

  7. Posted by flyingtomato on November 30, 2008 at 8:17 pm

    OK, Cherrie–no reason to shout about a pie crust. I’ll have to try it with my whole wheat crust next time–I made a quiche tonight, and a little more liquid would have helped.

    –re.

  8. Posted by cherrie on December 17, 2008 at 5:26 pm

    I’ve had so many requests for this recipe and a few requests for the science behind it. Since I had to type it up for others, I thought you might want a copy as well. It does seem so weird to use vodka, but, wow, does it work well.
    2 1/2 cups unbleached all-purpose flour
    1 txp table salt
    2 T sugar
    1 1/2 sticks cold unsalted butter cut into 1/4 inch slices
    1/2 cup cold vegetable shortening, cut into 4 pieces
    1/4 cup cold water
    1/4 cup cold 80 proof vodka
    proceed as usual

    The science: pie dough gets its structure from gluten. Too much gluten makes it tough. Water helps to produce gluten. Eighty proof vodka consists of 60 percent water and 40 percent ethano. Gluten does not form in ethanol. So you get the benefits of 8 T of liquid, which makes working the dough easier, but you’ve actually only used 6 1/2 T of water, an amt which limits gluten formation and enrures tenderness. The alcohol vaporized in the oven so there is no vodka taste

Leave a Reply

