Real Men Eat Quiche


After my success with the Thanksgiving pie crusts, I decided to move on to savory fillings and make a quiche for dinner last night.  I had some ham in the fridge, plus some garden broccoli thawed and a little onion from the basket of onions still hanging out in my living room.

I did a whole wheat crust this time–one cup whole wheat flour, 1/3 cup shortening cut in, then 3 tablespoons ice water to hold the thing together.  I wrapped the pastry ball in waxed paper and refrigerated for about an hour while I did dishes and prepped the filling ingredients: about a cup of diced broccoli, 3/4 cup cubed ham, a very small onion (maybe 1/5 cup, minced).

I rolled out the crust and pressed it into the nine inch pie pan (whole wheat crust is a little more crumbly and tricky), spread the filling over the bottom, then grated some marble jack cheese over the top.  A little salt, pepper, crumbled garden sage, and a sprinkle of nutmeg.

Over the top: five large eggs beaten with a cup of milk.  A 350 degree oven for thirty-five minutes made it puffy and lovely and delicious–I served it with a jar of pickled pears my friend Grace passed on to me.

My ex-husband would never eat quiche after he heard someone say that “real men” didn’t eat it.  One time, at an English Dept. potluck at the apartment of the visiting poet, Craig Arnold, my ex decided he didn’t like the amusing, ironic Craig very much (mostly, I think, because I did).  He accosted Craig at the food table, where there were a couple of–you guessed it–quiches sitting there.  I was coming out of the kitchen, and heard this exchange:

Ex (challenging): “You know, real men don’t eat quiche.”

Craig (amused): “Are you a real man?”

Ex (pissed): “Are YOU?”

Craig (even more amused): “Are YOU?”

At the time, I was completely horrified that my husband would enagage in this kind of chest-thumping ridiculousness at a work function–at MY work function, but now I just think it’s funny.  Mostly because I’m not married to him anymore.

They also wear kilts*

They also wear kilts*

At any rate, H.–being secure enough in his manhood to eat any damn thing he pleases–enjoyed last night’s quiche thoroughly.  And this morning’s chilled leftovers might have been even better.

It was really a pretty easy dish–as simple or simpler than a homemade pizza.  I think there’s an idea that any dish that is remotely French must be time-consuming and difficult, but a quiche seems like a good catch-all for all kinds of savory leftovers.

Turkey-sweet potato quiche, anyone?

* I stole this image from: Dr. Rodney Karr’s website.

9 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Matt on December 1, 2008 at 1:11 pm

    omg…this is hilarious. of course your ex would never make it out here . . . lame and pointless arguments notwithstanding, quiches are pretty commonplace in the cafes. I can get a big slab of deep dish quiche loaded with ham and broccoli up at Ladro (which i’ve given up due to sodium overkill) or down at Fuel they have these lovely mini single quiches that are buttery and perfect with a weekend honey-dappled cappuccino.

  2. Posted by flyingtomato on December 1, 2008 at 2:28 pm

    I just wonder if “real men” are allowed to eat frittatas. Is it the crust that’s at issue with the quiche, or is it the egg custard? Because I think “real men” can eat other things with crusts, like apple pie because, you know, that’s All-American and manly like baseball and drunken brawling and stuff. So, is it a sweet-in-a-crust v. savory-in-a-crust thing?

    Must be tough, having all those rules. I certainly can’t make sense of it. 😉

    –re.

  3. Posted by cherrie on December 1, 2008 at 3:16 pm

    Didn’t mean to sound like I was shouting about the vodka.
    Real men don’t eat quiche because it sounds delicate and soft. Think “steak,” “rack of ribs,” “pork chops,” etc. Just a theory.

  4. Posted by flyingtomato on December 1, 2008 at 5:36 pm

    So maybe, like “RACK” of ribs, fri-TA-TAs might be OK? But what about chicken BREAST? Probably not as manly. 😉

    –re.

  5. Posted by Matt on December 1, 2008 at 5:44 pm

    going with cherrie’s theory, perhaps it’s an appearance of no meat. or the presentation appears too finicky ala martha stewart, or perhaps the sound and look of the word seems “gay”. I have it on good authority that gay men LOVE quiche, they even invite other gay men over for quiche klatches wherein they discuss the finer points of the crust and the custards and who’s been over to so and so’s for quiche and . . . hmmm. maybe it’s a code word. “Want some of my quiche? It’s fresh and hot and decidedly firm in the center.” Perhaps your ex just wasn’t comfortable with his orientation.

  6. Quiche kicks ass. As do frittatas. Butter, cheese, bacon…what’s not to like?

  7. Posted by Claire on December 2, 2008 at 7:35 am

    real men can’t drink cappucino or cross their legs like Europeans either. I guess there’s a ban on Europe? Maybe just the French and Italians? I say good riddance. More quiche for me!!

  8. Posted by flyingtomato on December 2, 2008 at 8:55 am

    Oooh–speaking of quiche–Jen at the Modern Beet (linked to at right under food links) posted on a rendered bacon fat pastry crust. Heaven!

  9. Posted by Chas on October 19, 2011 at 10:47 am

    Real men DO know the front of a kilt from the back.

Leave a Reply

