New Leek-y Header!


I thought it might be about time to update my header to an image a little more reflective of the season.  Pictured in the new header are bunches of the winter-hardy French heirloom Blue Solaise leeks.

I’ve won best of show-horticultural division at the Clay County Fair two years running with these leeks.  The original seed came from Cook’s Garden–I have only seen this variety listed in one other obscure catalog.

I’ve been growing Blue Solaise for five years now, and they’re always fat, nutty, and delicious.  Since the overwinter so well, it’s not hard to get new seed stock out of them (they are biennials, flowering in the second year).

We got about three or four inches of snow last night, so everyone has been out shoveling and snow-blowing.  I did enough to allow passage along my sidewalks and up to my mailbox.

Once the sun is shining for a bit I’ll go out and see if I can get my frozen truck doors open.  I should really own a hairdryer for this kind of situation.  But I don’t really need to go anywhere yet, so I’ll tackle the project in chunks.

2 responses to this post.

  1. I want to print off your blog and eat the header – those leeks look so good. Found your blog cruising the net looking for CSA, organic farming info for SD. Considering a move in 2009.

  2. Posted by flyingtomato on December 10, 2008 at 11:46 am

    Maria–Come on over to SD! We can always use more local gardeners and foodies!

    I’d be interested to hear about your “urban garden gatherings”–is it an informal grouping, or more of an “official” garden club? I’d like to set up something like that here in Vermillion–more centered on growing and eating local food than the typical garden club.
    You can reach me at organicpeas(at)hotmail(dot)com

    –re.

Leave a Reply

