A Wild Hair


A Lock of Love

A Lock of Love

This is thirteen inches of my hair.  Note that it is no longer attached to my head.

I’m having neck troubles again–spending so much time in front of the screen tends to make my shoulders tighten up and pull my neck out of alignment.  I’ve been having trouble sleeping, too, and I decided just this afternoon that it might help to have less hair pulling on my neck when tucked in a coat or  piled on top of my head in my usual bun.

So, I called up my favorite salon–Green Acres–and Rena got me right in.  I love that it’s really down-home, and usually it’s little old ladies and lots of friendly chatter.  None of that fashionista attitude of the more trendy salons (BTW–speaking of -istas, check out William Safire’s favorite word of 2008).

The hair will grow back as it has the last two times I had enough cut off to donate to Locks of Love–a very worthy cause. I still plan on being one of those old women with long, powerful hair.

Right now I just want to lighten the load on my neck and stop having to pull it out from under my head at night, tuck it under my coat (and try not to catch it in the zipper) when I go out, and continually deal with the knots and snags that mysteriously develop whenever I wear a hat or scarf.

2 responses to this post.

  1. When are you going to post the “after” picture?

  2. Posted by flyingtomato on December 13, 2008 at 11:24 pm

    When I get H. to take one! A bit bashful as yet.
    –re.

Leave a Reply

