Viva Italia! Mona’s to Stay Open!


Vermillion’s cloth napkin establishment–the only place I know of in town to consistently have grilled lamb on the menu, is going to stay open after all.

Mona Lisi’s was going to close at the end of this month according to an article in the Volante a couple weeks ago.  However, the word from Mona’s waitstaff is that Skitch and Chae’s son is coming back from school to man the kitchen at Mona’s so Chae can start cooking at the new place–scheduled to open in mid-February at this point.

As much as I’m excited for a new restaurant to open, we can sure use to keep the classy Italian joint going.  Where else do we bring the prospective new faculty in order to make them believe we have an eensy bit of culture?  Every town needs a Mona’s, and I’m sure glad we get to keep ours.

5 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Claire on December 16, 2008 at 1:26 am

    First, I love Mona’s. Second, I have no idea how the Volante managed to win a journalism award because they spend most their time complaining over nothing, have factual inaccuracies so often that I’ve stopped telling them about it, and don’t really think things through when doing stories. For instance, they did an article on places to eat in Sioux City, but listed some of the most expensive places for those types of food in Sioux City, which is ridiculous considering the budget of their target audience. Speaking of factual inaccuracies, in that same article (which did feature Fuji Bay, my wedding anniversary destination of choice) they claimed that Sioux City only has one place to get sushi. That’s simply not true. There is another place on Hamilton by the Domino’s and you can also get fresh california rolls at the Super China Buffet (my cheap eatery of choice) by the Wal-Mart on Singing Hills. If ya can’t put enough effort into a story to occasionally fact check, why bother? I groan for the future of journalism…

  2. This is great to hear. I read the same story and was sad to hear Skitch say it would likely close. Good to know it’s sticking around.

  3. Yay from me also. I was stunned when I heard they were thinking of closing.

  4. Posted by cjop on December 16, 2008 at 10:11 pm

    I am curious about what type of food the new place will serve and what the impact, if any, this will have on the place they sold (Chae’s). That would not seem fair to me. Can anyone shed some light on this?

  5. Posted by flyingtomato on December 17, 2008 at 9:27 am

    The food at the new place is slated to be international Asian fare–Korean, Japanese, Thai, etc. I would imagine that even without crossing over in terms of recipes, it will be hard to keep both places going on Main Street so close to each other.

    I would hate to see Ted and Jessie go under from direct competition by the people who sold them the restaurant to begin with. I don’t know the personal politics behind all this–the Volante article linked to above indicated that Ted and Jessie declined to comment.

Leave a Reply

