Menu Musings for New Year’s Eve


We’re having a little company for New Year’s Eve, so house-cleaning and ingredient-gathering are underway.

Our friends mentioned bringing a brie with honey and almonds to bake, so now I’m trying to think of what else would be good to nibble on.  A salted baguette is de rigueur, but I also like those little Finnish rye crisp breads I’ve been getting at Jone’s.

I’ve still got some of that fennel bulb–a salad from that and a few sectioned clementines in a balsamic dressing seems like a good idea.  I’m thinking that and maybe something else light, as we plan to pick up some Burbach’s eggnog as well, and that and the baked cheese will be plentiful ballast.

I could break open a jar of assorted pickles, and/or perhaps those pickled sweet red peppers.  Oooh!  Or maybe the pickled asparagus spears, though maybe those can be saved for a brunch with Bloody Marys.  But I do have more than one jar, and I can’t imagine the whole thing will get used in one night.

I’ve also been dying to make a borscht with the rest of the beets in the crisper (or maybe half of them–a smaller batch).  Not sure if a beet soup works into the overall menu–if not, there’s the pickled whole small beets from the garden.  If there’s one thing I’ve got, it’s pickles.

Too, I’d like to break out the cranberry horseradish jelly I got late this season from Lip Smakin’ Jellies of Yankton.  I opened that yesterday and remembered how incredibly good the sample was.  Maybe that can accompany the baked brie or some other cheese (goat?).

In other plans, I need to locate a few hunks of dry wood, as I’m planning to stoke up the fireplace.  Much of the wood I had in the yard is buried in snow, but I’m guessing H’s shelterbelt will yield a good-sized pile.  I’d better clean up the humidifier as well–the fireplace dries out the air severely, and the humidifier has been getting so much use that it’s crusted with white scale.

House-cleaning won’t be complete until I wash and dry the dog’s blanket–she’ll be grumpy when it disappears, but it’ll be much easier to sweep and mop the floors without a dog-hair impregnated pile of fabric in the way.

So much to do!  So much excitement!  I can’t remember the last time I had a gathering in my little house.  What fun!

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Matt on December 30, 2008 at 1:26 pm

    i think the borscht is a wonderful idea, though it is very rich (esp. with the essential sour cream dollop), and if you’ve got brie and eggnog, that might be overkill. Do you have a vegetable you can serve with just a minimum of spice added, just something to bring out the flavor of the vegetable to complement and counter the rich dairy? The asparagus is certainly a good idea.

    Mmmm. I’m thinking I sorely regret missing out on the Burbach’s but my time shall come. 😉

    Have a wonderful feast.

  2. Posted by flyingtomato on December 30, 2008 at 2:49 pm

    I usually dollop with plain whole-milk yogurt instead of sour cream. It still has a nice tang, but isn’t quite so heavy.

    Nice to hear from you, dear. Glad you got back OK.

    –re.

Leave a Reply

