Local Source? Moxie Soda


I grew up in a household that did not stock soda (or as you locals call it: “pop”).  The only soda we ever kept on hand was an occasional small bottle of birch beer or ginger ale or sasparilla (Sioux City Sasparilla, of course–even on the East Coast).  I guess my mom did keep a liter bottle of Coke on the cellar stairs, but that was for migraine emergencies only.

At my grandparents house, things were a little different.  They kept soda on reserve, and they both hoarded it in stashes kept secret from each other–in the bottoms of closets, in the laundry room, in the workshop.  The soda they hoarded and occasionally allowed us to drink was Moxie, which is apparently the longest continually-produced soda in the U.S.

moxie-soda

Moxie’s not for everyone–it has a decidedly harsh and medicinal taste–like a true “tonic,” as my Bostonian grandmother called all sodas or pops.  One reviewer called it a soda only for “old people and those who’ve had their taste buds shot off in war.”  While my grandfather was indeed a vet, and also liked to douse his food in horseradish and Tobasco, my grandmother was not, and did not.

I’m wondering if any of my local readers have seen Moxie on their travels throughout the Siouxland area.  It’s mostly only distributed in New England and upstate New York, and I’ve never come across it outside that area, but I figured a few extra eyes would be useful.

I’d love to have a six-pack for old time’s sake–though I’m not willing to pay the thirteen dollars shipping that the East Coast suppliers demand.

3 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Scott "Moxie Man" Bernier on January 30, 2009 at 2:22 pm

    Greetings from frozen Maine. I don’t know how up-to-date this website is, but it provides a listing of where you can find Moxie across the country: http://www.moxie.info/findmox.htm

    As to the shipping costs from the East Coast, blame UPS and the weight of the product.

    Good luck!

  2. Posted by Lesley S. on November 12, 2009 at 6:58 pm

    Hello, I stumbled onto this entry because I was looking for places to find Moxie.
    We usually get a case of it for the family at christmas by going to a website called the hometown store. They sell a variety of retro candy as well as retro sodas such as Nehi.
    Moxie does taste very medicinal, and I always warn people before they drink. But I happen to be 21, my first taste of Moxie when I was 11, and I instantly hated it, but it’s an aqcuired taste. The more I had it, the more I liked it and I now just can’t get enough of it. It’s my favorite beverage and my parents and I always buy a carton of vanilla ice cream and have moxie floats!

  3. Posted by flyingtomato on November 12, 2009 at 7:16 pm

    Moxie floats sound awesome! I still haven’t had a Moxie in quite some time–more medicinal than the soda is the cost of shipping it!

Leave a Reply

