Hearty Winter Dinner


Tonight’s meal consisted of a small grassfed steer patty, cooked in a cast iron skillet with a dash of Worchestershire (a must for burgers in my book) and a grind of pepper.

Before I got those started, I heated the oven to 350 degrees and cut three parsnips and three carrots into bite-sized pieces and tossed them with my version of Penzey’s Russian seasoning: cinnamon, nutmeg, salt, pepper, marjoram, and garlic, then some olive oil to coat, and put them in to roast.

I had picked up a bunch of gorgeous red chard and a little carton of crimini mushrooms at East Dakotah Natural Foods Co-op in Sioux Falls last weekend–I cut the mushrooms in quarters and chopped the stems of the chard, then chopped the leaves separately.

When the steer patties were done, I plated them up and threw the chard stems and mushrooms in to cook.  After a minute or two, I threw a couple tablespoons of red wine in the pan (whatever was in my glass), the chard leaves, and a grind of pepper.  I covered the pan and turned off the burner to let the residual heat wilt the leaves while I plated the roasted and slightly caramelized carrots and parsnips.

I served the meal with a loaf of crusty whole-grain peasant bread (also from the Co-op) and a lump of goat butter.  It was so good, I’m glad there wasn’t more, or I’d have made a real glutton of myself!

Leave a Reply

