Start Seeds this Weekend!


If you have peppers, eggplant, and/or any perennial plants that need to be started 8-10 weeks before the frost-free date, this weekend is a great time to start them.  Why?  Because we’re only a couple days out from the full moon.

Seeds sown a few days before the moon is full germinate faster and grow stronger than seeds sown after the full moon–you get the slight advantage of the waxing rather than the waning effect.  This may sound slightly ethereal, but consider the effect of the moon on the tides (and on women’s monthly cycles if they’re not constantly subjected to artificial lights and other modifying influences).

I’ve got my pepper and eggplant seed packs out, and I’m going to check my herb-and-flower box for other possible starts.  Still have to do a little juggling for space–I moved my two amaryllis plants out of the south window upstairs to make room for a flat of leeks or onions there.

3 responses to this post.

  1. How do you have to treat these lovelies once they’re sprouted?

  2. Posted by midnightgardener on March 6, 2009 at 1:06 pm

    Thanks for the reminder, O Winged Tomato, I have some designs on starting seeds soon…and this sounds like the right weekend!

  3. Posted by flyingtomato on March 6, 2009 at 2:22 pm

    Treat which? The perennials or the peppers and eggplant?

    I start the peppers and eggplant in a channel flat on a heat mat, to give them the extra warmth they need to pop up. When they’re fairly good-sized, I transplant them into 4-packs, tossing the not-so-healthy or strong-looking ones.

    I start the perennials in slightly larger pots (about 2 or 3″) and if they require re-potting before setting out, I do that. I start several seeds in each pot, and prick out the less-strong ones so the remaining plants have enough room for better root growth. When the weather settles, I transplant them out into my home garden. I’ve got peach-leaf campanula, Rocky Mountain penstemon, and wild purple foxgloves to start this round of perennials.

Leave a Reply

