Asparagus Whacking


I went out to one of the asparagus patches I maintain for friends (in exchange for being allowed to harvest it).  It wasn’t mowed earlier in the season, and it has started to bear–about two or three weeks into the season.

I thought it might be possible to pull or clip the grass around the crowns, so as not to whack off their little heads, but after attempting that process, I realized there was nothing else to do but harvest as thoroughly as I could and then mow the thing.

So, I pulled a few pounds of spears out of the patch and went back to the farm for the brush mower.  It’s not a super-duty one–it’s basically a string trimmer on wheels.  But it is heavy, so I did my settle-down squat routine that I employ when lifting heavy machinery and got it into my truck, transporting it back down the road.

I felt kind of bad whacking the heck out of the patch, but it has been mowed mid-season before without too much damage.  It’ll take about 2 weeks for it to get back into the swing, and it’ll be a heck of a lot easier to find the spears without all the long grass and old, dead stalks in the way.

Besides that job, I went out to the farm to put in the last two black raspberry plants I got to fill out the double row on the hill. I also stopped by the Rosewood Greenhouse on the west edge of town and tried not to drool over the delicious variety of gorgeous plants that I can’t buy because I’m having my house painted this summer.

Tonight’s dinner was oven-roasted asparagus spears–dressed with olive oil and salt, then put under the broiler ’til tender-crisp–and linguine with gorgonzola cream sauce.

Simply cooked the pasta al dente, tossed with a smidgen of butter, and dressed with a simple sauce made from whole milk plain yogurt, chunked-up gorgonzola, a little salt, a lot of black pepper, and a little dash of garlic powder.  It was kind of naughty-rich, but very good.

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Frank on May 13, 2009 at 11:05 am

    Stop, you’re making me drool, I love asparagus. Kim and I planted 8 or 9 little alien looking root things this spring. Hopefully we’ll have the problem of asparagus upkeep in the coming years.

    Your supper sounded great.

  2. Posted by flyingtomato on May 13, 2009 at 11:17 am

    Sorry to make you drool! The supper was indeed great. I’m eating asparagus and greens every day–my fridge is empty of them now, so I guess I’ll have to get back out to the gardens this afternoon!

Leave a Reply

