River Time!


200678124625P_13Hi, my name is Rebecca, and I’m a workaholic.

But then it’s summer, and we get the tent set up and along about four o’ clock in the afternoon, I can’t think of anything better to do than to start getting ready for another night on the river.

We spent our first night of the season there last night–when the “slight chance” of thunderstorms turned into hours of thunder and lightning and rain.  But we stayed cozy and dry, and the dog even found a dry spot under the rain fly by the front door.

Last night I brought a simply snacky dinner, so we didn’t have to bother with cooking implements when we were trying to figure out what parts of which tent in what bag went together.  Tonight, the fire grate comes out and the cooler is packed with lamb brats, fresh asparagus in a foil packet, and other goodies.

I’ll admit I didn’t sleep well last night–the rain and lightning kept me awake, and I was concerned that if there was hail, I was going to have to crawl over everybody and get the dog into the tent.

The funny thing is, no matter how few hours I sleep when I camp on the river, I always wake up feeling refreshed (especially after a nice chilly dip as the sun comes up).  Tonight’s supposed to be clear (with thunderstorms tomorrow night–and hopefully, too–we need the rain), so I’m guessing I’ll get a few more hours of sleep–drifting off to the sounds of the frogs and the whippoorwill.

Leave a Reply

