A New Cherry Tomato to Try


Red Currant, Sungold, Coyote, and Black Cherry (center)

Red Currant, Sungold, Coyote, and Black Cherry (center)

My fellow farmer turned me on to a new heirloom cherry tomato this year.  She had grown them in her Twin Cities garden, and found the seeds through a little independent mail order company called Skyfire Seeds this year.  Having an extra spot in my tomato-starting flat, I asked her for a couple seeds to try the variety at the farm.

It’s called Coyote, and it’s most definitely a fresh-eating cherry tomato.  Kelly had warned me that it might not be a good market tomato, and I blissfully took that to mean it was like Sungold, which is a fresh-market tomato, but does not store or ship well.

Well, forewarned should have been forearmed, because these guys split immediately upon ripe-picking, which means I probably won’t be bringing them to market.  I’m going to eat them all myself!

The flavor is fantastic!  Much fuller than most yellow tomatoes–less fruity than Sungold (the only hybrid tomato I grow) and more richly tomato-y.  They’re very light yellow–really a creamy translucent color. Most of the Coyotes pictured above are slightly under-ripe–but you can see one or two that are getting their ripe cream color.

They’re also tiny–the same size as the (also pictured above) Red Currant–and much, much smaller than the mammoth Black Cherry in the center of the image. The plants get huge and wild–this is one to grow with a generous amount of space and support–maybe even in its own little garden that you pass by or spend time in often.

I’d like to throw together a little garden like that just for these tiny tomatoes that are great for popping directly from vine to mouth–maybe with a Coyote on one side of an arbor (with a bench for reading and daydreaming?) and a Red Currant on the other.

I guess it’s funny that I’m working on selecting for a Red Pear (none ripe yet, so none pictured) that doesn’t crack at the same time I’m introducing an heirloom that inevitably cracks–but Red Pears are for sauce and drying–Coyotes are going to be my new favorite for fresh-eating!

One response to this post.

  1. Hey, glad you liked them! I used to eat them every day after my bike commute home from work in downtown Minneapolis. I don’t know how they’ll do in SD, but in MN they were completely impervious to the wilt that eventually got all my other tomatoes.

Leave a Reply

