In Transit


I think that the American airport system has decided that the best way for us all to travel is as passive, humbled, and powerless individuals.

I remember this every time I fly–even if I’ve already prepared myself with the most easily-removable shoes I own and pared-down luggage, so I don’t have to pay the extra fees to check my bags, then wait around the airport to retrieve them when I arrive.

Still, it does encourage a sort of Taoist release–just going with the flow, letting the whole experience wash over without trying to act up or out and just act at all.  Just let the trip happen–stand when your name or number or row is called, file onto the plane, take your seat–do everything you’re told and nothing you’re not.

I’m excited to travel from this essentially flat, treeless plain I call home to a place with more topography, more trees, and ocean to boot.  Spending time with old friends and trying to relax and re-focus are the main priorities during this week–maybe doing a little cooking with what’s in season there.

Shopping (except for food and wine) isn’t really on the agenda–nor is extensive sight-seeing–though I may try to hit a museum or a park.  Sorry, Seattle–I’m not the kind of visitor that’s going to line your maritime pockets with my tourist dollars.

I’m just going to hide out in your coffee-and-rosemary-scented coolness, reflecting on just why it is I live where I do, do what I do, and don’t get out more often.

See you soon.

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Heidi on August 24, 2009 at 8:53 am

    Have a great time in lovely Seattle, Rebecca!

Leave a Reply

