That’s What I Get


Serves me right for leaving in the middle of harvest season:

Squash overload

Squash overload

I had a couple of very well-meaning pickers to take care of things while I was gone, but by the looks of things they got a little overwhelmed.  It could have been much worse than a few ten-inch okra pods and some monster squash.

Marvel of Venice heirloom beans

Marvel of Venice heirloom beans

H and I stopped at the farm before he brought me home yesterday afternoon, so I could pick up a few things for dinner.  I cut a few of the biggest cukes, the above-imaged squash, and cleared out all the too-big-for-consumption okra pods.

Zapotec Pleated, Nebraska Wedding, Purple Calabash, Nyagous

Zapotec Pleated, Nebraska Wedding, Purple Calabash, Nyagous

This morning I went out with buckets and baskets and went to work on the pole snap beans, tomatoes, and the rest of the cukes.  I only ended up picking the pretty-darn-ripe tomatoes because there were so many that were close, and I didn’t want to spend the first day of classes in a swamp of sauce-making.

Japanese Black Trifele, Polish Linguisa, and (underneath) San Marzanos and Principe Borgheses

Japanese Black Trifele, Polish Linguisa, and (underneath) San Marzano, Cuore di Bue, and Principe Borghese

So, I’ll process about thirty pounds or so into sauce today, and hopefully the close ones can wait ’til market this week.  I’d like to do an heirloom tomato tasting at my table.

Stupice (red) and Yellow Perfection

Stupice (red) and Yellow Perfection

While the sauce is simmering, I’ll spend my time online making more updates to my classes.  One of my textbooks was backordered, and that has caused some real problems with assignment updates.

I finally received that literature anthology on Friday evening (yes, I made them send it to me in Seattle), so the last day of my vacation was as much work as relaxation.  Though, of course, we still ate really well, and I got to see the Andrew Wyeth exhibit at the S.A.M. and eat fabulous Fran’s chocolate. Not too shabby.

But now I’m back, and the harvest, made late by a cool summer, is ramping up mightily just as the fall semester begins.  I might actually look forward to winter this year….

Leave a Reply

