This Is It!


Saucy Tomatoes

Saucy Tomatoes

This morning I pulled out the two boxes and a basket of tomatoes I had built up in the living room (my excess produce storage area) and pulled out all the ripe ones to process.

Altogether, I processed about thirty pounds for the last batch of plain sauce (now simmering in two pots on the stove) and re-packed about twenty pounds that weren’t ripe enough yet–those will be for this week’s farmers market along with anything else that ripens up in the next few days.

I also solved this year’s tomato mystery:

Pretty/Ugly

Pretty/Ugly

The yellow and red-streaked ones are Hillbilly Potato Leaf, but I couldn’t for the life of me figure out what these big green splotchy things were.  I pulled one off the vine the other day and realized that even with the seemingly undeveloped color, it was dead ripe.

Well, it came to me in a flash this morning–it’s an Ananas Noire.  I purchased the seed precisely because the fruits pictured were incredibly ugly–in my experience ugly-looking tomatoes are often the tastiest.  But I also thought they were going to be more of a salad-sized fruit–not lunker slicers.

The yearly tomato mystery is, of course, a result of growing so many different tomatoes and trying new weird varieties every year.  Sure, I label them, but who can find a label under that much foliage?

For the record, last year’s tomato mystery was Nebraska Wedding.  I couldn’t figure out why those Hillbilly Potato Leaf fruits weren’t getting their red streaks–they were just ripening at a slightly smaller size and to a nice golden orange.

Sheesh.

I am already planning on trying a couple new fruits next year–Green Zebra, Santorini (a free sample from Skyfire Garden Seeds–thanks!), and Millet’s Dakota.  There’ll probably be a few more besides that.

Anyone wanna place bets on which one I’ll be mystified by next season?

One response to this post.

  1. I grew a Green Zebra plant this year, and have found the fruit pretty tasty. If you let them get really ripe, they start to go from yellowish with green shoulders to an almost pink color, though the inside stays bright green.
    They taste delicious, and are a great addition to bruschetta, along with all the other colors of tomatoes.

Leave a Reply

