Produce Insanity


Here’s how it is–I shelled beans last night while watching a movie, but I haven’t quite got the shells out to the compost, so they’re sitting in a big basket by the couch.  There is a bin of peppers and cucumbers and eggplant on the floor, two winter squash sitting on my rack below two boxes of not-quite-ripe tomatoes.

There’s a couple of shallots in a basket, too, and another too-big zucchini sitting on the floor next to two cases of various high-acid (that is, “safe”) canned goods for market. There’s a forty pound bag of yellow onions sitting over near the front door.

Then there’s baskets and boxes and flyers and signs and paper goods in a huge box from our last event, and–you get the picture.  That’s just the living room.

The kitchen is a mass of boxes, too–the pressure canner and tomato strainer boxes, plus more buckets of produce, two big pots of tomato sauce, a bin of more eggplant and cucumbers, and a basket of sweet peppers turning red, plus a few other assorted veggies that were dinged up and should be eaten right away.  Two bowls of shelled beans.

All this, and the yellow beans really need picking in the garden–should have picked them today, but what the heck was I going to do with them?  Tomorrow, maybe, I can get back out there and bring those in for blanching and freezing along with about a bazillion little Red Pear tomatoes that should go in the dehydrator.

Right now I’m pressure canning the smaller pot of tomato sauce along with some yellow squash and okra.  I only ended up with about 4 quarts of it–might’ve had five, but I couldn’t remember if I’d eaten today, so I guessed that meant I hadn’t, and I should eat some of what I was making.

Next is the bigger pot of tomato sauce, which will be dressed up with a whole freakload of eggplant and sweet peppers and probably some more squash to make ratatouille.  That is usually pressure-canned in pints, but I’m just about out of pint jars even though I bought another case of them two days ago.  Quarts it is!

I still have plenty of empty quart jars (maybe three or four cases), but at the rate I’m going, I’m going to have every jar around this place chock-full by the end of another week.

The produce inundation will stop soon–I know it will–and I may even miss it this winter when there’s nary a fresh tomato in sight.  But things will get worse before they get better.  In another week or two we’ll be getting a frost–and where do you think all that produce will go that’s still in the field?

I’d better get those bean shells out to the compost pile…and start eating more veggies.

Leave a Reply

