Homemade Pizza


Sometimes the littlest things inspire me to make a certain dish.

Tonight it was half a bottle of Leinie’s Fireside Nut Brown that I didn’t finish last night along with an absence of bread in the house at about 5pm.  I thought, that half bottle of beer could go in a bread dough. And I thought, I don’t have time to make a loaf of bread before dinner.

But I did have time to make pizza, which I haven’t done in what seems like forever.

This one has tomato-herb sauce, chopped arugula and parsley, roasted red peppers, balsamic-roasted red onions, and grated Asiago cheese.  Or should I say, had?

It was so good, H and I ate it all up!

Local ingredients: tomato sauce, herbs, parsley, arugula, red onions, red peppers, honey.

I am really looking forward to trying a local flour I purchased for pizza and bread doughs, but I have to finish off my Wheat Montana flour first.  As I’ve mentioned before, Wheat Montana is the absolute best flour I’ve ever used, but I’m certainly up for trying something grown and milled in South Dakota.

One response to this post.

  1. Posted by Vines & Cattle on December 3, 2009 at 8:23 pm

    My wife discovered an ordinary bread recipe from Mother Earth News, she now keeps it on hand and uses it for everything from rolls to pizza crust with just a few modifications.

Leave a Reply

