Crazy-Making


So, at this point, it’s a full-on war.  I told H he needs to make an appointment to get the cat shaved (er, “groomed”) and flea-dipped.  Her fur is so thick, I can’t get to the fleas, but they are most certainly in there.

The dog’s belly was crawling with them again yesterday afternoon, so I sprayed her down with flea spray, combed them out, and then wiped her down with warm wet towels.  Then I dusted her new bed and all around it with borax–then vacuumed.  Then I took her to the dog park, which made her much happier.

Last night I blocked off the basement to keep the pets out and sprinkled borax everywhere.  Despite having removed and recycled a large quantity of cardboard boxes, there’s still a lot of stuff stored down there to try to move/get around.

The “bunker room” is especially fun–the light only stays on if you are actively pulling on the cord–and keeping tension on a cord, moving stuff, and trying to sprinkle borax all at the same time (with the light constantly going out) was pretty ridiculous. Pretty glad no one was filming that silliness.

I do have a wood plank that I use as a weight for the cord, but it kept sliding out of the loop I made for it.  Jeez.  I also sprinkled the carpet in my son’s room again and stripped down his bed–even though, as I’ve said, the animals don’t hang in there.  But just in case.

So, those areas will be blocked off for the rest of the day (and maybe night) as I’m heading back up to Brookings to give a Farm Beginnings presentations on marketing.  I’m up early trying to get the finishing touches put on my own notes, now that the power point is finished.

I’m pretty excited to meet this mix of people who are farming or seriously considering getting into farming enterprises.  I read through their bios, and I’ve only met a handful of the twelve participants and their families/partners.  Lots of great diversity there.  I hope my presentation is helpful!

One response to this post.

  1. Posted by deondra on December 19, 2009 at 1:25 pm

    What price sanity? You’ve gotta try this stuff. It works and gives you and edge in fighting the residual fleas. Available on line and at the vet’s. Honest, I don’t have stock in this company. I’ve just “been there.”

    Capstar (nitenpyram) is a once a day medication approved for use in the treatment of flea infestations on dogs and puppies, cats and kittens 4 weeks of age or older. Capstar is safe to use in pregnant or breeding animals. An adult female flea can lay up to 2,000 eggs in her lifetime. Capstar begins to kill adult fleas on the pet within 30 minutes and the effect lasts for 24 hours. Pets may scratch as a result of the fleas dying. It is not a reaction to the medication itself. There are no known drug or food interactions.

Leave a Reply

