Lovely Weather Out There


It hasn’t even been snowing very much.  Which is probably a good thing.

H an I made a run out to the farm in my little truck this afternoon.  It was a good thing I was driving painfully slowly–as I was coming up on the edge of the shelterbelt, I couldn’t see the road ahead with all the wind and blowing snow.

H had to navigate the drifts and walk in while I tried to get the truck turned around in the middle of the road so we could get back out.  I snapped this image during a brief break in the white-out.  The drifts across the road were two to three feet high.

The following images were taken once I got turned around and was waiting for H to come back out so we could head back into town.

Local ingredients: snow, wind.

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by joelie hicks on January 26, 2010 at 2:06 pm

    how do you make that relish, it sounds fabulous.

  2. Posted by flyingtomato on January 26, 2010 at 2:33 pm

    Here’s a link with an actual image of the page from the cookbook I make it from–along with all my notes.

    I make it every couple of years–we don’t eat a lot of it, but it’s just the thing when you want a sweet, lightly curry-tasting relish. Definitely cut down on the sugar from the recipe–it will be plenty sweet enough. I use yellow squash because it’s prettier.

Leave a Reply

