Lamb, Leeks, and Beans


Look what I dug out of the home garden today!

Unearthed

I transplanted the smallest of the leeks to the home garden last season, when I moved the rest of the crop into a better bed.  There’s maybe a dozen and a half or so, and they’ve only recently been visible now that the snow cover is receding.

Because they were planted so close to the foundation, I was able to sink a shovel in and retrieve some for tonight’s dinner, though at that point I didn’t know what dinner was going to be.

It only came to me late this afternoon, after a full day of errands and meetings and in between the afternoon dog park jaunt and another meeting.  I’d put a cup of so of dried borlotto beans up to soak this morning, and because they were freshly dried, it only took a few hours to plump them up.

I pulled out my Dutch oven and tossed in a dollop of chicken fat I’d saved from a meal of one of Nate’s chickens last week, then coarsely chopped the leeks and threw them in, too.  Out of the freezer came a small package of Dakota Harvest lamb sausage links for the pot.

Along with the leeks and sausages simmering in the chicken fat, I added a couple of crushed cloves of Patti Bancroft’s organic garlic.  I also threw in a little crushed thyme leaf, some red pepper flakes, and a couple dollops of my homemade bouillon.

Then the beans went in, along with a quart jar of chicken stock (also from the aforementioned chicken dinner), plus another quart of water.  I brought the whole thing up to a simmer and then put the lid on and tucked it in the oven at 300 degrees while I headed off to my meeting.

When I got back about an hour later, the beans were tender and the whole darn thing had come together brilliantly.  I threw in about half a cup of red wine, simmered it on the stovetop just a few minutes longer, and served with crusty bread.

I think it would’ve been made even better by the addition of some curly kale, but alas, I had none on hand.  Maybe next time.

Local ingredients: chicken fat, chicken stock, lamb sausage, leeks, garlic, dried beans, red pepper, homemade bouillon.

3 responses to this post.

  1. Glad you’re putting your bouillon to use! 😀

  2. Posted by Jeremiah on April 5, 2010 at 8:36 pm

    Flying Tomato,

    Nice blog you have.

    I was wondering if perhaps there are some places that grow and sell wild leeks there in the Dakotas.
    If so, and you could share that information with me, that would be wonderful.

    Thanks.

  3. Posted by flyingtomato on April 5, 2010 at 9:07 pm

    Jeremiah–

    You mean ramps? I don’t know, but I’d like to. Clue me in if you find something, and I’ll do the same for you.

Leave a Reply

