Donate to Your Local Food Pantry


There was a time when I had to use the Emergency Food Shelf.

My ex-husband and I had gotten married a few months earlier, and we’d moved to Vermont after my internship at a farm in Wisconsin fell through.  We both got jobs and found an apartment, but at the end of that summer, we looked at our finances and realized we had barely enough to pay the next month’s rent.

We were living off the culled gone-by fruits and vegetables I brought home from my job as produce manager at an all-organic market, plus a big bag of rice.  We’d eat what we could at our jobs–him at the restaurant where he managed to get part-time work, me the left-overs from the deli case at the end of the day, and I’d try to make something filling for the rest of the meals.

When we realized our options–stay and pay that last month’s rent and have nothing to live on or put in the gas tank, or high-tail it back to South Dakota where we had a bit more of a safety net of friends and contacts, we high-tailed it.

There was about a week or so when we didn’t have anyplace to live except the free camping park.  It was summer, though, so we set up our tent and kept the rest of our belongings locked in the car.  Our friends let us shower and fed us occasional meals.  Then, we found a house we could afford outside of town, and we both found jobs with previous employers.

But paying that deposit and first month’s rent on the house took up the last of our funds, and we just didn’t have anything to eat.  We tried to apply for food stamps, but the simple fact that our car was too new made us ineligible.  They sent us to the emergency food pantry, located at the Trinity Lutheran Church.

During that two weeks or so between our getting back to Vermillion and getting paid from our work, we relied on the supplemental assistance of that safety net.  Though it was a scary time, I felt good that my mother had always set the example of buying an extra can or two of beans, an extra box or bag of rice–because I had done the same before we’d gotten into those dire straits, and once we got back on our feet, I did it again.

I am hearing a lot of stories on the radio about how local food pantries all over the country are “drying up.”  Most people who use those services aren’t doing it all the time–they use it when they really need it, and many of those who do use it also donate to it when they are flush.

It doesn’t take a heck of a lot of cash to pick up something extra when you’re at the grocery store–heck, a can of organic beans is only a buck!  Grab something you’d eat–something nourishing and easy to use, and drop it in that donation box on the way out the door.

A well-stocked food pantry is in the best interest of the entire community, and you never know when you, or someone you know, might really need it.

5 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by redhatterb on October 22, 2008 at 7:57 pm

    I had somebody tell me a couple weeks ago that the shelves at the Sioux Falls food pantry are getting really skimpy. The Banquet is having a hard time getting volunteers, Meals on Wheels is having a hard time getting drivers. Something has to give.

  2. Posted by John on October 22, 2008 at 9:39 pm

    When I lived in Minnesota I was the treasurer for a soup kitchen. By far the best way to help us get enough food was to give cash. Soup kitchens and food shelves?sp? had access to things like second harvest and we could buy cases of food for a couple of dollars. Not sure if it works that way here, but if it does, for the same price you would spend on a box of cereal, the food shelf can buy a case.

  3. Posted by Claire on October 23, 2008 at 7:33 am

    I was actually talking with the gals at the Vermilliom food pantry in I think it was the beginning of September and they said their pantry was as low as they could remember it ever being. They said they’d been busier than usual and it was getting closer to food drive times so they were hoping to get replenished through that. So, yeah, I second your post. DONATE!

  4. Posted by Lindy on December 29, 2008 at 12:44 pm

    I am looking for someplace to donate a bunch of Nutri systems food that I am allergic to. I can’t find any where that is near my home. Any suggestions

  5. Posted by flyingtomato on December 29, 2008 at 1:00 pm

    I would try calling the nearby churches. They usually have some idea of what the local food distribution system is, and where you might donate.
    –re.

Leave a comment